City directories for Grand Traverse and Leelanau Counties, 1945-2009. In older editions, residents are listed by name and address--sometimes with occupation and children’s names. Located in the Reference Room.
Plat Books are maps of an area that show who owned the land. The library has the most recent plat books for surrounding counties in the reference collection (G 1413) and old ones in storage. Ask a librarian to retrieve them for you.
Search select US newspapers, with the bulk of the collection coming from 56 Michigan papers. Issues span from 1807-present, with a several month lag for digitization. Access is restricted to NMC users; password required or visit the library to access this database.
A searchable archive containing newspapers from 1888-2012, via the Benzie Shores District Library. Includes The Benzie Banner, Benzie Record Patriot, Benzonia Citizen, Frankfort Express, South Frankfort Alert, Elberta Alert, and The Frankfort Times.
The NMC Library created an index for the following newspapers: The Grand Traverse Herald, The Evening Record, The Morning Record, The Traverse Bay Eagle, and The Traverse City Record Eagle. The index covers newspaper stories, including birth, marriage, and death announcements, from the Traverse City area from 1868 to approximately 1985.
Contains most issues of the newspaper in the following date ranges: 1858 to 1977, 1988 & 1989 and 2009 to the current year, with a processing delay of several months for new issues. Access is restricted to NMC users; password required or visit the library to access this database.
Local history materials from communities around the state. Michigan's unique heritage is represented through over 4,500 different subjects of photographs, family papers, oral histories, and genealogical materials.
A family history resource including more than 11 billion historical records from the United States, Europe, Latin America, and other regions. Includes the full USA federal census (1790-1940); censuses of the UK and Ireland; Nordic censuses; Canadian censuses; records of U.S. military involvement, including those of Union and Confederate Civil War soldiers; and more. Also offers over 3 billion family trees.
TADL is your regional hub for research into local history. They maintain archival collections of local newspapers and other primary documents, and also subscribe to Ancestry, a digital genealogical research service (you must visit the library in person for access).