LibGuides: Government Documents and Research: Federal Research Databases

Why a specific database?

Sometimes Google does not "reach into" a database, or sometimes you only want a specific type of information.

Try directly searching any of these databases to find relevant government documents for your research.

Homeland Security Digital Library
NMC Login required. Community users can access the full version this database from computers in the library, or visit https://www.hsdl.org/ to access the Public Collection.
OSTI.gov
Includes journal articles/accepted manuscripts and related metadata, technical reports, scientific research datasets and collections, scientific software, patents, conference and workshop papers, books and theses, and multimedia funded by DOE through a grant, contract, cooperative agreement, or similar type of funding mechanism from the 1940s to today.
ERIC
The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) makes education-related resources easily available for research and practice.
Science.gov
Gateway to authoritative federal science information including research and development results.
USA Trade Online
USA Trade Online provides access to current and cumulative U.S. export and import data for over 9,000 export commodities and 17,000 import commodities. *Password required; ask at the reference desk.
PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
National Geologic Map Database
The U.S. National Geologic Map Database is a resource for information about paper and digital maps and reports on the Nation's geology and stratigraphy
Library of Congress
Access online collections: view maps & photographs; read letters, diaries & newspapers; hear personal accounts of events; listen to sound recordings & watch historic films.