LibGuides: Film Studies: Welcome

Film as Literature Online Resources

Search for ebooks about film studies in Ebook Central, a library database.

Suggested general search terms: film criticism, motion pictures, women in motion pictures, feminist film criticism, violence in motion pictures, experimental films, comedy films, historical films, horror films, and motion picture industry. You may also search by director or actor's name.

Examples of suggested film studies ebooks are below.

The Philosophy of Martin Scorsese by Mark T. Conard (Editor)
ISBN: 0813192188
Publication Date: 2009-06-08
Academy Award--winning director Martin Scorsese is one of the most significant American filmmakers in the history of cinema. Although best known for his movies about gangsters and violence, such as Mean Streets, Goodfellas, Casino, and Taxi Driver, Scorsese has addressed a much wider range of themes and topics in the four decades of his career.
The Extraordinary Image by Robert P. Kolker
ISBN: 0813583098
Publication Date: 2016-11-30
Welles. Hitchcock. Kubrick. These names appear on nearly every list of the all-time greatest filmmakers. But what makes these directors so great? Despite their very different themes and sensibilities, is there a common genius that unites them and elevates their work into the realm of the sublime?
A Short History of Film by Gwendolyn Audrey Foster; Wheeler Winston Dixon; Wheeler Winston Dixon
Call Number: PN1993.5.A1 D53 2008
Provides a concise and accurate overview of the history of world cinema, detailing the major movements, directors, studios, and genres from 1896 through 2012. Accompanied by more than 250 rare color and black-and-white stills.
Studying Fight Club by Mark Ramey
ISBN: 9781906733551
Publication Date: 2012-08-14
American Film Cycles by Amanda Ann Klein
Call Number: PN1993.5.U6 K525 2011
While some have viewed them as “subgenres,” mini-genres, or nascent film genres, Amanda Ann Klein argues that film cycles are an entity in their own right and a subject worthy of their own study. She posits that film cycles retain the marks of their historical, economic, and generic contexts and therefore can reveal much about the state of contemporary politics, prevalent social ideologies, aesthetic trends, popular desires, and anxieties.

100 Ideas That Changed Film by David Parkinson
Publication Date: 2012
This inspiring book chronicles the most influential ideas that have shaped film since its inception. The ideas include innovative concepts, technologies, techniques and movements, from the silent era's masterpieces to today's blockbusters and art house movies, these highly illustrated pages are a chance to rediscover films from five continents.
Animation by Andrew Selby
Publication Date: 2013
From scriptwriting through to production, this introduction to animation for students surveys key technical processes and examines a variety of stylistic approaches.
The Ashgate Encyclopedia of Literary and Cinematic Monsters by Jeffrey Andrew Weinstock
Publication Date: 2014
From vampires and demons to ghosts and zombies, interest in monsters in literature, film, and popular culture has never been stronger. This concise Encyclopedia provides scholars and students with a comprehensive and authoritative A-Z of monsters throughout the ages. It is the first major reference book on monsters for the scholarly market.
A/V A-Z by Richard W. Kroon
Publication Date: 2010
Defining more than 10,000 words and phrases from everyday slang to technical terms and concepts, this dictionary of the audiovisual language embraces more than 50 subject areas within film, television, and home entertainment.
Chambers Film Factfinder by Chambers Editors
Publication Date: 2006
A collection of useful and often fascinating information on many aspects of film, from the early days of silent cinema to the twenty-first century.

Academic Search Elite: This database contains the full-text of more than 2,000 journals, including more that 1,500 peer-reviewed titles. This multi-disciplinary database covers virtually every area of academic study. More than 100 journals have PDF images going back to 1985.

Box Office Mojo: Freely available website with comprehensive box office statistics.

The Internet Movie Database (IMDb): Popular and authoritative source for movie, TV and celebrity content.

JSTOR: Journal articles in a scholarly database including anthropology, education, history, literature, philosophy, and sociology.

MeLCat: Freely request books and films from other Michigan libraries. Items usually arrive in 5-7 days.

Cineaste (1990 - present available full-text from Academic Search Elite)

CineAction (2001 - 2016 available full-text from Academic OneFile)

Cinema Journal (1996 - present available full-text from Academic Search Elite)

Film Comment (2002 - present available full-text from Academic Search Elite)

Film Criticism (1985 - present available full-text from Academic Search Elite)

Film History (2000 - present available full-text from Academic OneFile)

Journal of Popular Culture (full-text is available in print from 1967 - present)

Journal of Popular Film and Television (1990 - 2016 available full-text from Academic Search Elite)

Literature Film Quarterly (most issues since 1973 are available in various databases; use the "Search within" box here; issues since 2017 are freely available online)

Film Studies: Welcome

Film as Literature Online Resources

Academic Search Elite: This database contains the full-text of more than 2,000 journals, including more that 1,500 peer-reviewed titles. This multi-disciplinary database covers virtually every area of academic study. More than 100 journals have PDF images going back to 1985.

JSTOR: Journal articles in a scholarly database including anthropology, education, history, literature, philosophy, and sociology.

MeLCat: Freely request books and films from other Michigan libraries. Items usually arrive in 5-7 days.

Live Chat with a Librarian