Reference is a great starting place when you are researching a new topic. It will help you establish the basics: definitions, overview, history, key players, timelines, key concepts, etc. A good grasp of this foundational information allows you to launch your research from a solid place!
For in-depth analysis of a topic, books are a great resource. In the NMC Library you have access to print books, ebooks and audiobooks.
Need help setting up your Overdrive/Libby app or account? Step-by-step instructions are available.
For academic purposes (like writing a paper for class!) finding articles isn't as simple as just Googling. You need to be able to find credible sources and cite them. Particularly when you are writing about religion, a topic that can attract bad actors distributing misinformation.
On this tab, we will explore DATABASES, your go-to resource for finding credible articles,
Need help using databases? Here are some helpful tips. And remember, you can always make a reference appointment with a librarian!
QUESTION: Is a library database the same thing as Google?
ANSWER: They are similar in some ways... and also very different!
Search engines like Google search the web for freely available information. Google can be considered a database since it contains a collection of searchable information. Like a library database, Google contains tons of information. But, in addition to some of the great stuff you can find in databases, it also includes:
Magazines and newspapers have to make money somehow, so they don't usually give all their content away for free online. That's why websites will often only show a headline or part of an article before they ask you to log in. If you haven't purchased a subscription to that website, you are out of luck! Or are you? Databases allow you to access a lot of great stuff that you would normally have to pay for. Part of your tuition for this class pays for the content in the library databases.
You also get results in different ways. Library databases are organized by search terms and keywords. You control the filters, which means you control the results. You may get thousands more results on Google, but a lot of those results are sponsored or promotional - meaning a company is paying Google to make sure they appear at the top of your list. Also, Google tracks your data and gives you information based on your location and your recent search activity. Library databases don't do that.
Despite the fact that the open web has a ton of cool and easily accessible information, it also means a lot of work determining if a source you find there is a.) true, b.) appropriate for academic purposes and c.) the best option for the work you are doing.
CITATION TIPS: Writing citations for maps that you have created with these tools isn't as tricky as you might think.
Here are some samples in Chicago style for you to reference.
PolicyMap - copy from PolicyMap's citation tool and EDIT before using!
"Rate of adherence to the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints per 1,000 people in 2010." PolicyMap, based on data from ASARB: Religious Congregations and Membership in the United States, 2010, accessed 20 February 2023. http://www.policymap.com.
US Religion Census
"Baha'i Faith USA, 2020: Percent of Population Claimed." US Religion Census, accessed February 2, 2023, https://maps.nazarene.org/usrc/poppen2.html?y=2020.
Google Maps
"Sikh in Michigan." Google Maps, accessed February 2, 2023, https://www.google.com/maps/search/sikh+michigan.
Popular magazines often address the religious and ethical issues of modern life. Browse these sites for ideas and different viewpoints.
You can find current events in any of your go-to news sources. Regardless of where your news comes from, be sure you fact-check and think critically about the quality and perspective of the reporting. Or access news from a variety of perspectives using the "Balanced News" option at
FACT CHECKING WEBSITES
MEDIA BIAS RATERS
