google-site-verification: google8fa698f884017ca5.html Skip to main content

Maritime LibGuide: Great Lakes Shipwrecks


 Shipwreck books are located in three main areas in the Osterlin Library. 
Feel free to check the shelf for the wealth of knowledge we have.

F 551
G 525
VK 1271

Reference Books

Books @Osterlin Library

Listed below are a few examples of the many shipwreck books at Osterlin Library.

Useful Websites

Great Lakes Shipwreck Museum
Whitefish Point, Michigan is the home of the Great Lakes Shipwreck Museum.  The web site offers detailed information and virtual tours.

Great Lakes Shipwrecks File: Total Losses of Great Lakes Ships 1679-2014 by David Swayze
This document is the most complete and accurate list of losses of Great Lakes Commercial vessel in existence, but it may be considered to be a work in progress, since my research continues. 

Great Lakes Shipwrecks Research:

Historical Collections of the Great Lakes
Online databases for vessels, ports, and maritime personnel are available from thehe HCGL's collections.  Their extensive archives (print only) include materials related to commercial shipping, shipbuilding, navigation, maritime law, commercial fishing, shipwrecks, yachting, labor history, popular literature, freshwater ecology, recreation, and the history of Great Lakes ports. 

Maritime Historical Society of Detroit
A non-profit organization founded in 1944 that provides a focal point for individuals and organizations interested in and concerned with the history of the Great Lakes and its maritime heritage.

Maritime History of the Great Lakes
A digital library containing ship lists, regional histories, government reports, newspaper accounts, and other resources. Topics include shipbuilding, shipwrecks, and the working lives of steamboats, schooners, and the people who sailed them. Maintained by librarians from the HALINET system in Canada.

Michigan Shipwreck Research Association (MSRA)
A non-profit organization dedicated to research and documentation of submerged cultural resources and the creation of educational programs and materials.

Michigan Underwater Preserves
The Michigan Underwater Preserve Council (MUPC) was formed in an effort to preserve, protect the Great Lakes shipwrecks and to educate divers and non-divers on their history and aid in their preservation.

Minnesota's Historic Shipwrecks
The State Historic Preservation Office of the Minnesota Historical Society has initiated a program of submerged cultural resource management.

Shipwrecks in the Great Lakes Region
An extensive list of links to shipwrecks and underwater preserves.

Thunder Bay National Marine Sanctuary and Underwater Preserve
Thunder Bay and the surrounding waters on Lake Huron contain a nationally significant collection of over 100 shipwrecks that spans two centuries of Great Lakes shipping history, reflecting transitions in ship architecture and construction, from wooden schooners to steel-hulled steamers.

Wisconsin's Great Lakes Shipwrecks
Photos and video of Lake Michigan and Lake Superior wrecks, diving history, information on Great Lakes environmental issues and a database of more than 39,000 references to newspaper articles about life on the Great Lakes.

Wisconsin Maritime Museum
The Wisconsin Maritime Museum is an educational institution dedicated to collecting, preserving, studying, and interpreting the artifacts that tell the story of the maritime industry of the Upper Great Lakes.

Wreck Site:
The wreck site is the world largest onlinewreck database, we have 162.240 wrecksand 156.210 positions, 45.640 images, 1796 maritime charts, 28.250 ship owners andbuilders and a lot more...