Skip to main content

History: Family History Project - HST 111 & 112 (McCall)

Library and web resources for History courses at Northwestern Michigan College

HST 111 Textbooks

A copy of The American Promise, Volume I: To 1877: A History of the United States is on reserve at the library.  You can check it out for two-hour in-library use.

HST 112 Textbooks

Copies of textbooks are available at the reference desk for two-hour in-library use.

   

Benzie County Newspapers Online

Online access to these Benzie County historical newspapers:

Benzie Banner
Benzie Record Patriot
Benzonia Citizen
Frankfort Express
South Frankfort Alert
The Elberta Alert
The Frankfort Times

City Directories & Plat Books

City directories for Grand Traverse and Leelanau Counties, 1945-2009.  In older editions, residents are listed by name and address--sometimes with occupation and children’s names. Located in the Reference Room.

Plat Books are maps of an area that show who owned the land.   The library has the most recent plat books for surrounding counties in the reference collection (G 1413) and old ones in storage.  Ask a librarian to retrieve them for you. 

Family History

Google News

Use Google to find old newspaper articles from the time and place your ancestor lived.  Click on the link above to search Google's entire newspaper archive.

Traverse Area District Library

The Traverse Area District Library has a subscription to AncestryLibrary, an electronic collection of genealogical records including census, military, social security, immigration, family trees, etc., but you can only access it from the main library or one of its member or branch libraries.  For all library locations and hours, click here.  The Nelson Room at the main library is a non-circulating collection of local history items including TC yearbooks, city directories, plat maps and more.

Historical Newspapers from TADL

The Morning Record, 1897-1901

Honest Opinion, 1919

The Evening Record, 1901-1907

The Daily Eagle, 1903-1907

Traverse City Press, 1917

Traverse Bay Eagle, 1891, 1901

Grand Traverse Press, 1918

Michigan Cemeteries

A compilation of published cemetery transcriptions located at the Library of Michigan and links to Michigan cemetery websites. This database also identifies the location of over 3,700 cemeteries in Michigan. It is NOT intended to include a list of personal names. 

Or use the Michigan Cemetary Atlas in the map case in the Reference Room.  
Ref-Atlas G 1411 .E6225 L5 1991.

                              

Find a Grave
This site started as a way to record the final resting places of the rich and famous.  It has since expanded to include the less famous as well.

Handout

Immigrant Passenger Lists

Links to searchable passenger lists from immigrant ships.

Traverse City Record Eagle Archive

Covers the years 1858-1977, 1988-1989, and 2009-2012.  (Any years not covered are available on microfilm.)  

Microfilm

Our library has the Traverse City Record Eagle and earlier Traverse City newspapers on microfilm from 1858. Births, deaths, marriages and other important events are indexed here.

Michigan Historic Newspapers


Michigan newspapers online from the Library of Congress.

 

Digital Historical Collections at CMU

Central Michigan University libraries logo
CMU's Digital Collections offer free access to Michigan newspapers, CMU scholarly works and history, historical publications, and more.​​

Interlibrary Loan

 

You can use Osterlin Library’s interlibrary loan service to get things like cemetery records, county histories, and family histories.  Search MelCat to see what is available then request your loan online using your Osterlin Library card. Your books will be delivered to the library in 3-5 days.  If you need help, call 995-1060.

Live Chat with a Librarian

chat loading...