Skip to main content

Faculty Services and Resources: Library Instruction

List of services the Library provides to faculty.

Request Instruction

Contact Your Library Liaison

COMMUNICATIONS, LITERATURE, FINE ARTS, SOCIOLOGY, EDUCATION
Ann Geht 995-1973 ageht@nmc.edu

WATER STUDIES, BUSINESS, HEALTH OCCUPATIONS
Mary Beeker 995-1015 mbeeker@nmc.edu

HUMANITIES, PHILOSOPHY & RELIGION, SCIENCE & MATHEMATICS
Tina Ulrich 995-1063 tulrich@nmc.edu

SOCIAL SCIENCES, PHYSICAL EDUCATION, AVIATION, MARITIME
Michele Howard 995-1065 mhoward@nmc.edu

MUSIC, ANTHROPOLOGY, CHILDREN'S LITERATURE, AGRICULTURE
Joelle Hannert, (231) 995-1684, jhannert@nmc.edu

CULINARY, PHYSICAL EDUCATION, BUILDING CONSTRUCTION
Rochelle Hammontree, (231) 995-1064, rhammontree@nmc.edu

 

Instructional Help

Instructional Options

  • Assignment-based instruction in your classroom or in the library. For example, Geography students working on a country overview coming to the library to learn about the Geography resources available in the library reference collection and online. (1-2 hours)

  • General library resources and services overview with emphasis on specific collections. For example, Children's Literature students coming to the library for a session on how to use and access library resources for children's literature, including books and article databases. (1 hour)

  • In-class instruction on specific library research tools. For example, librarian visits classroom and instructs students on how to use citation generator NoodleBib. (30 minutes)

  • Curriculum integrated library instruction. Multiple instruction sessions (2 minimum) allow for the most benefit to students, allowing for both demonstrations and learning exercises along with independent research with librarian (and instructor) assistance. This is the model used in ENG 111 & ENG 112 where students receive instruction on general research principles and specific online article databases for searching (2 hours each session)

  • Examples of classes currently receiving library instruction: CJ 101, ENG 108, ENG 111, ENG 112, ENG 264, ECON 201, LWE 210, PSY100.

Why Information Literacy Instruction?

Reduces Student Anxiety
Library research is the #1 academic fear of college students, and library instruction has been shown to reduce the anxiety. 
Encourages Students To Use Critical Thinking Skills
Evaluating the quality of the sources they find is frequently a new concept to college students. Library instruction can show them how to use critical thinking skills to evaluate their sources.

Saves Students Time
Literature shows that students require more library instruction than ever before to help them make the best use of their time and find the information they need.

Improves Quality of Student Research and Papers
When students use better quality sources, the quality of their papers improve. Some students have reported higher grades on their papers after library instruction made them familiar with library resources and how to best use them.

Reduces Student Perceived Barriers to Requesting Help
Once they've been in the library and interacted with a librarian, they feel more comfortable asking for help when they need it.

Instruction Librarian

Ann Geht's picture
Ann Geht
Contact:
Ann Geht, Instruction Librarian
Office: (231) 995-1973
Reference Desk: (231) 995-1540
Text: (231) 774-6209
ageht@nmc.edu
Twitter: @NMC_library

NMC Osterlin Library
Office: Osterlin 100C
1701 E. Front St.
Traverse City, MI 49686