This is the "Welcome" page of the "Faculty Services and Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Faculty Services and Resources  

Last Updated: Oct 25, 2013 URL: http://nmc.libguides.com/faculty Print Guide RSS Updates

Welcome Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Contact Your Library Liaison

COMMUNICATIONS, LITERATURE, FINE ARTS, SOCIOLOGY, EDUCATION
Ann Geht 995-1973 ageht@nmc.edu


WATER STUDIES, BUSINESS, HEALTH OCCUPATIONS
Mary Beeker 995-1015 mbeeker@nmc.edu


HUMANITIES, PHILOSOPHY & RELIGION, SCIENCE & MATHEMATICS
Tina Ulrich 995-1063 tulrich@nmc.edu


SOCIAL SCIENCES, PHYSICAL EDUCATION, AVIATION, MARITIME
Michele Howard 995-1065 mhoward@nmc.edu


ONLINE CLASSES, MOODLE AND AUDIO-VISUAL
Educational Media Technologies, Jan Oliver 995-1076 joliver@nmc.edu

 

Global Literature Reading Group

MEETINGS FOR 2013-2014:

Friday, November 15: Rez Life, by David Treuer
Friday, April 25: The Orphan Master’s Son, by Adam Johnson

REQUEST A BOOK:

Copies are available at a subsidized price of $5. Contact Tina Ulrich at 995-1063 or tulrich@nmc.edu.

 

Find It!

Research databases
Limit Your Results
 

CIE Collection

A collection of professional books selected by the Center for Instructional Excellence is shelved in the back of the library.  You can search this collection separately here.

Center for Instructional Excellence Collection

 

New Books

Find these titles on the New Books kiosk in the library lobby.  To browse new books online, click on the "New Books" tab in the catalog.

Cover Art
The Basics of Hacking and Penetration Testing - Patrick Engebretson
Call Number: QA76.9 .A25 E5443 2013
ISBN: 9780124116443
Publication Date: 2013
"The Basics of Hacking and Penetration Testing "serves as an introduction to the steps required to complete a penetration test or perform an ethical hack. You learn how to properly utilize and interpret the results of modern day hacking tools; which are required to complete a penetration test. Tool coverage will include, Backtrack Linux, Google, Whois, Nmap, Nessus, Metasploit, Netcat, Netbus, and more. A simple and clean explanation of how to utilize these tools will allow you to gain a solid understanding of each of the four phases and prepare them to take on more in-depth texts and topics. This book includes the use of a single example (pen test target) all the way through the book which allows you to clearly see how the tools and phases relate.

Cover Art
The Virtues of Poetry - James Longenbach
Call Number: PN1042 .L665 2013
ISBN: 9781555976378
Publication Date: 2013
An illuminating look at the many forms of poetry's essential excellence by James Longenbach, a writer with "an ear as subtle and assured as any American poet now writing" (John Koethe)An illuminating look at the many forms of poetry's essential excellence by James Longenbach, a writer with "an ear as subtle and assured as any American poet now writing" (John Koethe) "This book proposes some of the virtues to which the next poem might aspire: boldness, change, compression, dilation, doubt, excess, inevitability, intimacy, otherness, particularity, restraint, shyness, surprise, and worldliness.

Cover Art
eGods - William Sims Bainbridge
Call Number: V1469.17 .S63 B35 2013
ISBN: 9780199935819
Publication Date: 2013
William Bainbridge takes an in-depth look at the fantasy religions that exist in 34 different massively multiplayer online roleplaying games. He categorizes the religions, noting similarities across the games. He points, for instance, to the prevalence of polytheism: a system which, Bainbridge argues, can function as an effective map of reality in which each deity personifies a concept. Religions are as much about conceptualizing the self as conceptualizing the sacred. Most games allow the players to have multiple avatars, an idea Bainbridge likens to contemporary scientific ideas about personality.

 

Copyright Guidelines

For information about copyright law and how it pertains to educational materials, consult these brochures or the copyright page on the Teaching @ NMC website.

 

Traverse City Record Eagle Archive

Covers the years 1858-1977, 1988-1989, and 2009-2012.  (Any years not covered are available on microfilm.)  


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip