LibGuides: Water Studies: Managing Data &amp; Metadata

Websites for Water Data - Michigan and the U.S.

AquaSTAT
a searchable database on geography (land use, population, economy and development), water resources, water use, conservation agriculture, and environment and health; covers multiple decades and broken down by country
ECOTOX
Provides single chemical toxicity information for aquatic and terrestrial life which is useful for examining impacts of chemicals on the environment. Peer-reviewed literature is the primary source for the database including information on the species, chemical, test methods, and results.
Geospacial Data Survey
A searchable tool from the USDA providing a one-stop shop for environmental and natural resource data
Grand Traverse Bay Water Quality Database
provide by The Watershed Center and LIAA - a GIS-based tool for viewing water quality data on area streams and rivers
more...less...
An online, interactive Regional Water Quality Database for the Grand Traverse Bay watershed, which provides a comprehensive storehouse of available water quality data for the entire watershed
Great Lakes Observing System
GLOS works to make real-time and historical data publicly available
Great Lakes Water Levels - Current
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers provides current data on water level in the Great Lakes
Michigan Clean Water Corps
MiCorps’ Cooperative Lakes Monitoring Program (CLMP) provides technical assistance, training, and other support to volunteer lake monitors in Michigan to ensure that they are collecting reliable, high-quality data.
Michigan Sea Grant
A great source for photos of invasive species or Michigan coastline. Sea Grant funds research on water issues and produces reports.
Michigan Surface Water Information Management System
An interactive map-based system that allows users to view information about Michigan’s surface water
Michigan Water Withdrawal Assessment Tool
An online tool to estimate the likely impact of a water withdrawal on nearby streams and rivers
Surf Your Watershed - Michigan
U.S. EPA provides an interactive tool for finding geographical information about each watershed in the U.S.
Watershed Assessment, Tracking & Environmental Results System (WATERS)
EPA gathers water quality information to address public concerns such as: How healthy is my watershed? Can I drink the water? Can I eat the fish? and Is it safe to swim in the water?
USGS National Water Information System
These pages provide access to water-resources data collected at approximately 1.9 million sites in all 50 States, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, Guam, American Samoa and the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands.
National Water Quality Data Monitoring Council
The Water Quality Portal (WQP) is a cooperative service sponsored by the United States Geological Survey (USGS), the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) and the National Water Quality Monitoring Council (NWQMC) that integrates publicly available water quality data from the USGS National Water Information System (NWIS) the EPA STOrage and RETrieval (STORET) Data Warehouse, and the USDA ARS Sustaining The Earth’s Watersheds - Agricultural Research Database System (STEWARDS).

Reports and Background on Water Issues

The Great Lakes (EPA)
Background information on the Great Lakes and its systems. Includes links to the Great Lakes Water Quality Agreement, Great Lakes Restoration Initiative, lake management plans, facts and data about the lakes and the Great Lakes Environmental Atlas and Resource Book
USGS Publications Warehouse
The U.S. Geological Survey pubs warehouse provides access to over 130,000 publications written by USGS scientists over the century-plus history of the bureau

Weather and Water Data

Web-based tools for weather and water:

Michigan Enviro-Weather - a graphical tool for displaying current and historic weather data specific to this region (temperature and rainfall, soil conditions, degree day data and comparisons, and forecasts)

National Snow Analyses - raw data and 2- and 3-D maps of snow from NOAA; includes snow depth, snow-water equivalents, snow melt, surface sublimation, and non-snow precipitation; use tools to zoom and display near-realtime data

National Weather Service - useful for radar and forecasts for the entire US, including maritime forecasts

Water Studies

NMC Online Water Library (OWL)

Metadata Standards

Websites for Water Data - Michigan and the U.S.

Reports and Background on Water Issues

Weather and Water Data