Skip to main content

World Languages: Find Articles

  Recommended Databases for General Research


Subscription databases purchased by the library provide authoritative, scholarly articles from the best academic journals.

  • Academic OneFile A large collection of peer-reviewed, full-text periodicals covering multiple research disciplines. In addition to 9,000 academic journals, Academic OneFile also includes the full-text of major newspapers -- back to 1995 -- as well as hundreds of podcasts, video and reference content from premier publishers.
    Limited by Publication Language: By doing an advanced search, selecting Publication Language from the Keyword drop down menu, and entering your desired language.  You can also do a regular search and then select a language in the Tools Menu, then click translate.

  • Ebsco Host  This database contains the full-text of more than 2,000 journals, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed titles. This multi-disciplinary database covers virtually every area of academic study. 
    Limited by Publication Language: By selecting advanced search, then in the "Limit You Results" window, select the desired language.

  • Lexis/Nexis Academic- A widely used, up-to-date, searchable archive of content from newspapers, magazines, legal documents and other printed sources; international in scope. Foreign news is available in the following languages: Dutch, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish.  Contains transcripts and news sources, company, industry and accounting information; internatinal, federal, state and Supreme Court cases; and medical news and journals.
    Limited by Publication Language: By selecting "News", then "Foreign Language"  and then next to "Language" select the desired language.

NMC subscribes to many databases. Visit A-Z Databases for a complete listing or the Subject Area List for a breakdown of the best databases by academic discipline.

Access from Home

NMC students and faculty can access all of the library's subscription databases from anywhere.  Click here for details.

Having trouble?  Contact the NMC Technology Help Desk @ 231-995-3020.

Cultural Information

Understanding a country's culture helps language learners appreciate and value a country's customs and gives insight into the language.

CultureGrams is an outstanding resources available to Michigan residents through MeL. It provides country overviews and includes photos, videos, and the ability to create customized graphs and charts about a country. 


Google Scholar

Google Scholar contains books, articles and other academic documents. Use Google Scholar as a supplement to the resources available through Osterlin Library.  Many items are full-text in Google Scholar, but not all!  When you locate an item in Google Scholar not available in full-text, consult these sources to determine if it is available through Osterlin:

1-iLink (Library Catalog) for books and documents

2-Osterlin Library Journal List for journal and magazine articles

If the item you want is not available through Osterlin it can be obtained through Interlibrary Loan, a lending service among libraries.