Skip to main content

Aviation Resources: Article Databases

This guide is to finding Aviation Resources available through the Osterlin Library

Journals

Aviation Week and Space Technology
(Print copy located in the Osterlin Library)

FAA Safety Briefing
Published six times a year, FAA Safety Briefing, formerly FAA Aviation News, promotes aviation safety by discussing current technical, regulatory, and procedural aspects affecting the safe operation and maintenance of aircraft.

Scholarly vs. Popular

Scholarly and Popular articles: Do you know the difference? Most college work requires scholarly publications, materials written by content specialists, often containing research.

This YouTube video created by Cornell University outlines how to distinguish between the two types of materials.

Popular articles are found in magazines and newspapers. Time and People are good examples. Articles in these publications are written by journalists and are intended for general readers.

Scholarly articles are found mostly in journals. Titles like the Journal of Educational Psychology, Journal of Dentistry for Children are examples. Articles in these publications are written by experts, people with degrees in the field of study. Often these journals are peer-reviewed, meaning a group of content specialists in the field (peers) reviewed the articles prior to publication to verify the authenticity of the work.

There is one more category of magazines/journals sometimes referred to as commentary sources. These are materials written by academics and scholars, but are not research based. Examples include Atlantic Monthly, New Yorker, and Commonwealth. Here you'll find commentaries on issues of the day. Consult these sources when you want intelligent analysis, but not necessarily research on a topic.

Make sure you know what your assignment requires.

Recommended Databases for Aviation Research


Aviation Databases

Lexis/Nexis Academic- In the News Search box, type your search.  This will search the publication Aviation Daily as well as other aviaiion news sources in the U.S. and Europe. Under the Legal tab, you can search federal and international aviation law.

Ebsco Host  This database contains the full-text of more than 2,000 journals, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed titles. This multi-disciplinary database covers virtually every area of academic study. It includes articles in the journal Aviation History, Aviation Consumer, Aviation Week & Space Technology, Business and Commercial Aviation.

ScienceDirect-Containing access to full-text scholarly articles dating back to 1995 in Health Sciences, Life Sciences and Physical Sciences, there are many articles dealing with aviation from journals covering transportation, energy, engineering, the environment, psychology and more.

General Databases

Search these databases using

  • Academic OneFile A large collection of peer-reviewed, full-text periodicals covering multiple research disciplines. In addition to 9,000 academic journals, Academic OneFile also includes the full-text of major newspapers -- back to 1995 -- as well as hundreds of podcasts, video and reference content from premier publishers.
  • JSTOR  Scholarly articles from 1,792 journals on subjects including anthropology, education, history, literature, philosophy, and sociology, from throughout the 20th and 21st Centuries.

  • Newpaper Source from EBSCOHOST: Provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 national and international newspapers, and selective full text for more than 370 regional newspapers. Includes full-text television & radio news transcripts from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc.

NMC subscribes to many databases. Visit A-Z Databases for a complete listing or the Subject Area List for a breakdown of the best databases by academic discipline.

  Google Scholar

Google Scholar contains books, articles and other academic documents. Use Google Scholar as a supplement to the resources available through Osterlin Library.  Many items are full-text in Google Scholar, but not all!  When you locate an item in Google Scholar not available in full-text, consult these sources to determine if it is available through Osterlin:

1-iLink (Library Catalog) for books and documents

2-Osterlin Library Journal List for journal and magazine articles

If the item you want is not available through Osterlin it can be obtained through Interlibrary Loan, a lending service among libraries.