Skip to main content

Public Speaking and Speeches: Finding Books & eBooks

This guide will assist you with locating the text of various speeches.

Credo Reference search box


This box will search all of your Credo Reference General Reference titles.

  eBooks

ebrary

Ebrary is a collection of over 50,000 books available in full text to NMC students online.  You can search this collection using the library catalog or search ebrary online by clicking on the logo here.

Using iLink

iLink is the online catalog for Osterlin Library. The text of speeches in the Osterlin collection can be located the following ways:

  • For speeches by a specific speaker (e.g. King, Martin Luther) do an Author search in iLink
    OR
  • Perform a Subject search in WorldCat or iLink using the term "Speeches or addresses, etc."
  • Vital Speeches of the Day
    • This bimonthly magazine prints the full text of important speeches by leaders in economics, politics, education, sociology, business, and labor. Issues from 1960-1982 are indexed in the Readers Guide to Periodical Literature (located in Storage.) Issues from 1983-1989 are indexed in Reader's Guide Abstracts, available by selecting the Complete Resource List on the library's home page. EBSCOhost Academic Search Elite  provides full text issues of Vital Speeches from 1990 to the present.

  Books @ Osterlin

Osterlin Library's collection is now about half print books and half ebooks.  Use the search box below to find print books, government documents, and ebrary and ACLS ebooks.  If you prefer one format or the other, perform your search in iLink. When the results are displayed, click on "Limit Search." Then click on the dropdown menu "Type" and choose either "Book" or "Online Resources."

Search using the words "Speeches, addresses, etc.".  There are many e-books with speeches available.

 

     iLink (Osterlin Library Catalog) Basic Search Box-