EPA - The Great Lakes: An Environmental Atlas and Resource Book - background information, including detailed maps, on the Great Lakes and its systems
Great Lakes Information Network is an effort to share data among the eight Great Lakes states and Canada
Great Lake Information - Michigan Department of Environmental Quality. Includes information about aquatic species, ballast water, dredging, shipwrecks and more.
Great Lakes Lake Levels - The U.S. Army Corps of Engineers has years of data on water level in the Great Lakes, includes historical minimum and maximum, with additional data on water levels in navigation channels
Historical Great Lakes Water Levels - NOAA provides verified lake level measurements - displayed graphically or in tabular data; this tool allows for selection of particular measurement-station data.
Great Lakes Observing System - a source for observational data on the Great Lakes
Great Lakes Historical Shipping Database - from the University of Detroit Mercy, this database is searchable by vessel name, owner, date, and builder.
Great Lakes Science Center - scientific information for restoring, enhancing, managing, and protecting living resources and their habitats in the Great Lakes basin ecosystem.
Healthy Lakes - website dedicated to healthy Great Lakes. Includes news, policy information and links.
Michigan Ballast Water Report - from the Michigan Department of Environmental Quality.
Michigan Geographic Data Library - stores many data sets related to the natural resources of Michigan. Note: accessing data requires use of GIS software
Michigan Maritime Museum - Experience the rich maritime heritage of the Great Lakes by visiting Michigan's most distinguished institution of maritime research, preservation and education.
Michigan Surface Water Information System - an interactive map-based system that allows users to view information about Michigan’s surface water
Michigan Sea Grant - provides studies and research done by Sea Grant researchers on fisheries, shoreline, invasive species, and land use
Monthly Bulletin of the Great Lakes Water Levels - US Army Corps of Engineers