Skip to main content

Maritime LibGuide: Articles

Journals

All the magazines are located in the Osterlin Library.

All these magazine/journals are available digitally.

American Shipper  via Library Database Ebsco
CMI Newsletter Free Open Access Journal
Financial Times via many Databases
Global IP News: Shipping and Marine Patent News via Gale Databases
IHS FairPlay Daily News via LexisNexis (graphics & some materials may not be available)
IHS Global Insight  via LexisNexis (graphics & some materials may not be available)
IHS Shipping Data via LexisNexis(graphics & some materials may not be available)
International Journal of e-Navigation and Maritime Economy via Science Direct
International Journal of Naval History Free Open Access Journal
International Maritime Health Free Open Access Journal
Journal of Commerce via LexisNexis but it does not include graphics. 
Law of the Sea Bulletin via many databases
Loyola Maritime Law Journal via many databases
Maritime Gateway  via many databases
Naval War College Review   via many databases Ocean & Coastal Law Journal via LexisNexis

Maritime Keywords

Use some of the following keywords to help narrow and/or organize your research.

Admiralty
Ballast Water
Cargo
Diesel
Engines
Great Lakes
Law of the Sea
Marine Engineering
Maritime
Maritime Law
Navigable Waters
Pirates
Salvage
Ship handling
Shipping
Shipwrecks
Trade
Vessels
Wars (Tripolitan, Algerian, WWI, etc)

Wall Street Journal

New!  Thanks to the Great Lakes Maritime Academy!

Full text of articles, 1984 to present.

Search Books, eBooks, Scholarly Journals, and More

Limit Your Results

Recommended Databases for Maritime Research

Legal Databases

  • Lexis-Nexis  This database has access to: full-text federal and international laws, European Court of Justice cases,  federal & state cases or codes, and legal reference encyclopedias.  Also includes law review articles covering many maritime issues.
     
  • Criminal Justice Collection  Although created for those studying to become a lawyer or law enforcement officer, paralegal, etc, this database has a fair amount of articles about maritime law, law of the sea, salvage, pirates, navigable waters and more.
  • LegalTrac  Drawing on a wide variety of the most highly regarded legal publications, LegalTrac® provides indexing for more than 1,400 titles including major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals and international legal journals.

  Google Scholar

Google Scholar contains books, articles and other academic documents. Use Google Scholar as a supplement to the resources available through Osterlin Library.  Many items are full-text in Google Scholar, but not all!  When you locate an item in Google Scholar not available in full-text, consult these sources to determine if it is available through Osterlin:

1-iLink (Library Catalog) for books and documents

2-Osterlin Library Journal List for journal and magazine articles

If the item you want is not available through Osterlin it can be obtained through Interlibrary Loan, a lending service among libraries.