Skip to main content

Food Issues Research (Safety, Supply, Etc.): Sustainable Agriculture

A guide resources related to food issues from animal rights to sustainable agriculture.

Grand Traverse Area & Michigan Food & Farming Resources

Web Resources

Alternative Farming Systems Information Center - identifies and provides access to information resources about sustainable food systems and practices.

National Sustainable Agriculture Coalition - an organization that advocates for policies and programs to support long-term economic, social, and environmental sustainability of agriculture, natural resources, and rural communities.

National Sustainable Agriculture Information Service - provides information and technical assistance to people involved in sustainable agriculture in the United States.

SARE - The Sustainable Agriculture Research and Education (SARE) program provides a database of some 3,000 reports in full text produced since 1988. SARE helps "... advance farming systems that are profitable, environmentally sound and good for communities through a nationwide research and education grants program. The program, part of USDA's Cooperative State Research, Education, and Extension Service, funds projects and conducts outreach designed to improve agricultural systems." 

Slow Food USA - an organization that promotes and supports food traditions through programs and activities to defend biodiversity and build food communities.

Food Alliance - a nonprofit organization that certifies food producers and handlers to ensure sustainable agricultural and facility management.

What is Sustainable Agriculture?

Sustainable agriculture produces abundant food without depleting the earth’s resources or polluting its environment.
https://attra.ncat.org/fundamental.html

...a safe, nutritious, ample, and affordable food supply is produced by a legion of family farmers who make a decent living pursuing their trade, while protecting the environment, and contributing to the strength and stability of their communities.
http://sustainableagriculture.net/about-us/

Books on Sustainable Agriculture

Use these books to find basic sustainable agriculture information.  

Use the "Terms/Keywords for Searching" on the right-hand side of the page to expand your topic search.

Databases for Agriculture & Sustainability Research

To locate your articles, try a variety of databases.  Here are the best options for locating information on agriculture and food.

  • Agriculture Collection (Gale) Indexes 400 agricultural periodicals covering growing tips to agricultural research center studies.
  • Gardening, Landscape, and Horticulture Collection (Gale) Practical growing and gardening tips.
  • GreenFile (EbscoHost)Information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
  • Science Direct access to scholarly, technical articles back to 1995 in life, health, and physical sciences.

  Access from Home

NMC students and faculty can access all of the library's subscription databases from anywhere.  Click here for details.

Having trouble?  Contact the NMC Technology Help Desk @ 231-995-3020.