Skip to main content

Sociology, Social Work, and Social Welfare: Find Articles

Suggested resources for Introduction to Sociology, Social Work, and Social Welfare classes

General Databases


Subscription databases purchased by the library provide authoritative, scholarly articles from the best academic journals.

  • Academic OneFile A large collection of peer-reviewed, full-text periodicals covering multiple research disciplines. In addition to 9,000 academic journals, Academic OneFile also includes the full-text of major newspapers -- back to 1995 -- as well as hundreds of podcasts, video and reference content from premier publishers.

  • Ebsco Host  This database contains the full-text of more than 2,000 journals, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed titles. This multi-disciplinary database covers virtually every area of academic study.  When searching for articles about history, choose both Academic Search Elite and History Reference Center to search both databases at once.
  • InfoTrac OneFile  General interest content with more popular, less scholarly emphasis; full-text of the New York Times to 1995, 11,500 periodical titles.

  • InfoTrac Newsstand: Full text newspaper articles from the United States and around the world, 1980 to the present.

  • JSTOR  Scholarly articles from 1,792 journals on subjects including anthropology, education, history, literature, philosophy, and sociology, from throughout the 20th and 21st Centuries.

  • ScienceDirect  Access to full-text scholarly articles back to 1995 in Health Sciences, Life Sciences, and Physical Sciences.

  • Newpaper Source from EBSCOHOST: Provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 national and international newspapers, and selective full text for more than 370 regional newspapers. Includes full-text television & radio news transcripts from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc.thoritative titles from the core scientific literature.  More than 2,500 journals and more than nine million full-text articles are available in ScienceDirect.  Also useful for the social sciences and medicine.

NMC subscribes to many databases. Visit A-Z Databases for a complete listing or the Subject Area List for a breakdown of the best databases by academic discipline.

Specialized Database

Tutorial on Peer-Reviewed articles

Print Journals

These Journals Can Be Checked Out for One Week

 

American Sociological Review (ASR) - Library has from 5 years ago to present

Journal of Psychosocial Nursing and Mental Health Service - Library has from 5 years ago to present

Social Problems - Library has from 10 years ago to present

Social Work Research - Comes out quarterly.  Library has from 5 years ago to present