Skip to main content

Alumni Library Resources: Articles

Library resources available to all community members

Periodicals

   Michigan residents have access to online collections of magazines, journals, and newspapers through the Michigan Electronic Library, a state-supported resource.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is Google's search engine especially for academic journals.  Some of the articles are freely available online.  Others direct you to the publisher's website in order to sell you a copy of the article.  Area residents can get copies of scholarly articles for the price of printing (5 cents/page) by calling (231-995-1540) or emailing the Osterlin Library.

High Quality Magazine and Newspapers Online

Many established magazines have websites with full or partial access to their publications.  NMC librarians have created a "Credible Sources Cheat Sheet" with links to a variety of quality journalistic sources for students.  Publications are loosely grouped by their political affiliations to expose students to a broad range of thinking of current topics.

NEW! Alumni Access to JSTOR

JSTOR logo Alumni Access

Graduates of NMC can access JSTOR, the digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources.  

 

Open Access Science Journals

DOAJ


The Directory of Open Access Journals is a collection of 10,000 open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social science and humanities.

Academic Databases in the Library

Academic libraries' contracts with database providers restrict access to college students, faculty, and staff.  However, anyone can access the databases from campus.  These are a few of the databases available.  The full list is available on the A to Z resources list.

Product Review Sites


Photo credit: 401(K) 2012

Issues of Consumer Reports magazine including the annual Buying Guide are available for checkout at the library. (Mel databases only include issues up to 2009.)  Below are links to sites with product reviews.

Newspapers

New York Times, 1965 - present
Access available through the Michigan Electronic Library

Microfilm

Our library has the Traverse City Record Eagle and earlier Traverse City newspapers on microfilm from 1858.

Births, deaths, marriages and other important events are indexed here.