Skip to main content

ENG 112: English Composition: Credible Sources Cheat Sheet

News

Newspapers

Although newspapers are considered to be neutral sources of information, be careful of opinion/editorial pieces that are usually persuasive pieces of writing. 

New York Times (left leaning)   Wall Street Journal  (right leaning)   Washington Post   San Francisco Chronicle  Chronicle of Higher Education

USA Today     Chicago Tribune     Daily News (New York)     Boston Herald   Boston Globe  Los Angeles Times

Radio/Web News Sources

Liberal:         MSNBC    CNN    Huffington Post 
Neutral:        BBC       NPR (accused of liberal tendencies)
Conservative: FOX 
Satirical:       The Onion (This is not news.)

________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Liberal Sources

Liberal Sources

Harpers 
Access: Osterlin print magazines, web and  databases
Focus: A
rticles on politics, science, education, the arts, entertainment and business for a well-educated, politically active audience.

Mother Jones
Access: Osterlin print magazines, web and  databases
Focus: A
rticles dealing with national news, investigative reporting, commentary, the arts as well as articles on health, the environment and book reviews.

Nation 
Access: Osterlin print magazines, web and  databases
Focus: Economics, education, foreign policy, labor, law and other social issues, literature and the arts.

New Republic
Access: Osterlin print magazines, web and  databases
Focus: Articles in the format of reports and essays, with topics ranging from politics and economics to literature and cinema.

Rolling Stone
Access: Osterlin print magazines, web and  databases
Focus:  P
opular culture especially  music and political reporting

Utne Reader: The Best of the Alternative Press
Access: Osterlin print magazines, web and databases
Focus: A
 digest of materials reprinted from alternative and independent media.


 

Liberal Think Tanks

Neutral Sources

Neutral Sources 

Atlantic 
(Neutral moving toward left leaning)

Access: Osterlin print magazines, web and  databases
Focus: A literary magazine covering the arts, the economy, foreign affairspolitical science, and technology. It has had no pay walls via its website since 2008.

Economist
Access: Osterlin print magazines, web and  databases
Focus: A weekly newsmagazine of world politics and current affairs, business, finance and science published in London, England.

Newsweek
Access: Osterlin print magazines, web and  databases
Focus: News and commentary on developments in the nation and the world.

Pacific Standard
Access: Osterlin print magazines and web
Focus: Public policy, administration, behavioral and social sciences issues.

Time Magazine
Access: Osterlin print magazines, web and  databases
Focus: National and international news, behavior, books, business, cinema, law, education, environment, modern living, music, nation, press, religion, theater, video and world.

 

 

Neutral- Independent Think Tanks

Conservative Sources

Conservative Sources

The American Conservative
Access: web and databases
Focus: Political analysis.  It considers itself, "Authentically conservative–modest, open-minded, and uninterested in partisan chicanery."

The American Spectator
Access: web and databases
Focus: News and politics. The print edition ceased in Sept/Oct. 2014 but it's website is still active.

FrontPage Magazine
Access: web and databases
Focus: News and political commentary for the  Freedom Cente
r.

National Review
Access: Osterlin print magazines, web and  databases
Focus: News, commentary and opinions directed at Conservatives and Republicans.

The New American 
Access:  web and  databases
Focus: on political science, social opinion and economic theory, while rejecting an accidental view of history and exposing the behind-the-scenes forces shaping American politics and culture; for constitutional conservatives and economic libertarian

Weekly Standard
Access: Osterlin print magazines 2010-14 , web and  databases
Focus: Conservative opinion magazine.

Conservative Think Tanks

Need topic? Not sure what side you're on? Try these sources.