Skip to main content

ENG 112: English Composition: Find Articles

Can't find the Full-text?

Using the NMC Journal List:

  • Not all items indexed in the databases are available full-text. When an article you need is not available in full-text, don’t despair! It may be available in another database or in the NMC print journal collection. 
  • Check the Osterlin Library Journal List:
    http://atoz.ebsco.com/Titles/657#65/1/1/journalsOnly
  • Or, when searching a database and the article is not available, click the “Search for Article” icon or link (depends on database, see example). This takes you to the Osterlin Library Journal List, which tells if the item is available in another database. If available, follow the links to the item.  
         
  • If you search the Osterlin Library Journal List and the item is not available through NMC collection, it can be obtained through Interlibrary Loan within 7-14 days.

Scholarly vs. Popular

Scholarly and Popular articles: Do you know the difference? Most college work requires scholarly publications, materials written by content specialists, often containing research.

This YouTube video created by Cornell University outlines how to distinguish between the two types of materials. Here's another helpful video from Peabody Library @ Vanderbilt University

Popular articles are found in magazines and newspapers. Time and People are good examples. Articles in these publications are written by journalists and are intended for general readers.

Scholarly articles are found mostly in journals. Titles like the Journal of Educational Psychology, Journal of Dentistry for Children are examples. Articles in these publications are written by experts, people with degrees in the field of study. Often these journals are peer-reviewed, meaning a group of content specialists in the field (peers) reviewed the articles prior to publication to verify the authenticity of the work.

There is one more category of magazines/journals sometimes referred to as commentary sources. These are materials written by academics and scholars, but are not research based. Examples include Atlantic Monthly, New Yorker, and Commonwealth. Here you'll find commentaries on issues of the day. Consult these sources when you want intelligent analysis, but not necessarily research on a topic.

Make sure you know what your assignment requires.

Subject Specific Databases

 

One technique for refining your search is to use a database specific to your subject area. Below are the key subject databases available through NMC. For a complete listing of our subject databases visit the Subject Area List or use the  A-Z Databases to browse for a database.

  • Business Source Elite-contains journal articles on all aspects of business from finance to management from top business sources including scholarly and peer reviewed publications, 1985 to present.

  • CINAHL-covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.

  • ERIC (Educational Resources Information Clearinghouse)-abstracts and full-text of journal articles and reports in education from 1966 to present. Includes materials related to all levels of education from Pre-School to Higher Education.

  • GreenFile-information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.

  • Lexis/Nexis Academic-journal articles and newspaper titles covering news, business, law, and medicine, including the U.S. and the world. Contains transcripts and news sources, company, industry and accounting information; federal, state and Supreme Court cases; and medical news and journals.

  • Psychology Collection-this collection gives users access to articles that offer a basic understanding of psychology, including emotions and how the human mind develops and diminishes over time. Provides full-text access to 200 subject appropriate periodicals.

  • ScienceDirect-access to full-text scholarly articles dating back to 1995 in Health Sciences, Life Sciences and Physical Sciences.

Sometimes the article you want is not available full-text in the database you are searching. To find out if the article is available full-text in another database or in the NMC Print/Microfilm Journal collection, use the Osterlin Library Journal List.  This tool allows you to search by journal or magazine title and will show its availability through Osterlin Library. Also, when searching a database, look for the "Find Full-Text" link, which takes you directly to the Osterlin Library Journal List.  If the item is not available in another database or through the Osterlin Print Collection, the next step is to order it through Interlibrary Loan.

  Recommended Databases for General Research


Subscription databases purchased by the library provide authoritative, scholarly articles from the best academic journals.

  • Academic OneFile A large collection of peer-reviewed, full-text periodicals covering multiple research disciplines. In addition to 9,000 academic journals, Academic OneFile also includes the full-text of major newspapers -- back to 1995 -- as well as hundreds of podcasts, video and reference content from premier publishers.

  • Ebsco Host  This database contains the full-text of more than 2,000 journals, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed titles. This multi-disciplinary database covers virtually every area of academic study. 

  • InfoTrac OneFile  General interest content with more popular, less scholarly emphasis; full-text of the New York Times to 1995, 11,500 periodical titles.

  • InfoTrac Newsstand: Full text newspaper articles from the United States and around the world, 1980 to the present.

  • JSTOR  Scholarly articles from 1,792 journals on subjects including anthropology, education, history, literature, philosophy, and sociology, from throughout the 20th and 21st Centuries.

  • Newpaper Source from EBSCOHOST: Provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 national and international newspapers, and selective full text for more than 370 regional newspapers. Includes full-text television & radio news transcripts from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc.

NMC subscribes to many databases. Visit A-Z Databases for a complete listing or the Subject Area List for a breakdown of the best databases by academic discipline.

Journal Bias

Don't know if a magazine or journal has a particular slant or bias?  Check it out on this website. Use the search box to enter a name of a journal or magazine.

SourceWatch.org

Google Scholar

Google Scholar contains books, articles and other academic documents. Use Google Scholar as a supplement to the resources available through Osterlin Library.  Many items are full-text in Google Scholar, but not all!  When you locate an item in Google Scholar not available in full-text, consult these sources to determine if it is available through Osterlin:

1-iLink (Library Catalog) for books and documents

2-Osterlin Library Journal List for journal and magazine articles

If the item you want is not available through Osterlin it can be obtained through Interlibrary Loan, a lending service among libraries.